Lynne Connolly

I’m USA Today Best Selling Author

Lynne Connolly

I write stories. I always have, since I was seven years old, and wrote my own version of Sir Gawain And The Green Knight – the way I wanted it to be!
Now I’m lucky enough to write about the people I dream about and to share them with you.
Join my newsletter, join my Facebook and Twitter pages from the links in the menu!

A Whisper of Treason

Brandy Snaps are a particularly yummy holiday treat – have a go!

Lynne Connolly’s Brandy Snaps


  1. Preheat the oven to 180C/350F/Gas 4. Line two baking trays with baking parchment then grease several wooden spoon handles.
  2. Measure the butter, sugar and syrup into a pan. Heat gently until the butter has melted and the sugar has dissolved. Don’t let the mixture boil as it may crystallise.
  3. Sieve in the flour and ginger. Pour in the lemon juice and stir well to mix thoroughly. Drop four teaspoonfuls of the mixture onto each of the prepared baking trays.
  4. Bake in the pre-heated oven for about 10-15 minutes, or until the mixture is well spread out, looks lacey and is a dark golden colour. Remove each tray from the oven and leave for a minute firm up slightly, then lift from the baking parchment.
  5. Quickly roll a circle of the warm mixture around the handle of the wooden spoon. Slide the brandy snap off the spoon and leave it to cool. Repeat until all the mixture has been used. When cold, store the brandy snaps in an airtight tin or container; they will keep for at least a week.

Alternatively, you can use small tins or bowls to form the mixture into brandy baskets, which you can fill with cream and fruit. Yum!

I’m thrilled to be a part of Heather’s Holiday Cookie Hop! I’ve given you a recipe for a particularly delicious holiday treat. They are quite fiddly to make, but so worth it! If you can rope the children in to help, they’ll have great fun, but be sure to keep them away from the hot baking sheets!

Win a Prize!

2021 Historical Holiday Cookie Hop with Heather McCollum

Follow this link to find all the authors taking part in this year’s holiday cookie hop! (5) Historical Romance Holiday Cookie Hop | Facebook

The day after Christmas, known as Boxing Day, was the day that servants received their “Christmas Boxes.” A gift, usually something practical like a length of cloth.

On the twelfth day of Christmas it was the custom for masters to wait on the servants, but by the Georgian period, not many people kept up the tradition!

Upon A Midnight Dreary
Star Of Light